#1 JK17

JK17

Otaku

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4 posts
  • LocationUSA- West Coast

Posted 24 July 2017 - 05:27 PM

Greetings everyone, I am Jade and I am new to Manga! I've know about it for years and had been wondering where to start on this massive genre. The artwork is superb and out of this world, and I have always head great appreciation an reverence to those who create such imaginative and life-like art!

It was a few months ago in May when I stumbled upon an analysis video on a character from a favorite RPG that greatly captured my interest that I decided to watch the youtubers other videos. One of them was about a Manga series known as Berserk. The video did contain spoilers, but that didn't matter, everything I heard and the scans that were shown blew me away like only a few other things have done in my life! I immediately bough the first volume on Amazon and was quite eager to get it. Once in my hands from the first few pages I was hooked! And before I continued I purchased Volumes 2-4. One finished with the first volume I knew I had stumbled upon something extraordinary. I just had to have the entire set. Thankfully it was my birthday and I spent every cent collecting the series - and I did some extra chores around the house and just over a month from getting the first volume I had all 38 volumes, nicely stacked together on my shelf and displayed proudly! And yes, I also finished reading them all. I am currently re-reading again, but in a much slower pace to fully appreciate the artwork and scope of the series.

Although I am currently broke, lol, I am searching for others in the genre to get interested in and compiling a wish-list for future purchases! I've watched many youtube videos about other readers and their recommendations. Attack on Titan looks interesting and maybe my next one to read... But I look forward to finding suggestions on this site.